Hello everyone! I have just finished my first book on my list of 50 classics to read within five years. It didn’t even take me one week to read the first book. My list seems to be going faster than I thought it would!

Beware, this contains major spoilers!

Anyway, let’s get down to business..

The first book on my list was Persuasion by Jane Austen, and let me tell you that it was a fantastic place to start. I have not read very many classiscs yet, so I don’t really have anything to base it off of.

Let’s start this discussion with favorite characters:

My favorite character was by far Anne. I am able to relate to her in many ways.

Anne has always been known as the least important, or least contributing part of the Elliot family. Anne is very quiet and well-mannered, but expresses her opinion in a very intelligent way. Anne’s major flaw is that she is to easily persuaded and tries to please everybody around her. She balances her duty and compassion in a way that allows her to be humble and caring for others.

I also find Captain Frederick Wentworth to be a very compassionate character. Although Captain Wentworth holds back his feelings a bit too much, a broken heart affects him in a very harsh way. His character truly blossoms when he pours out his feelings in a letter for Anne.

 

Now, for my least favorite character..

To be honest, I don’t have one. Even though I dislike more than one character, the story would not be the same without them.

My personal favorite part:

My favorite part was when Captain Wentworth finally gave Anne the letter that proclaimed his feelings. This is a truly romantic novel that gave me relaxed vibes whenever I sat down and read it.

What do you think? Is persuasion a romantic novel or not. Please leave a comment with your answer.

The plot line was amazing, and the book was a very relaxing read. I am truly committed to classics!

If you are not here for the classics club, you can find the link on my first post.

Please leave a comment to discuss any topics or provide any suggestions. I will answer any and every comment you leave. Thank you!

-Sara

 

0-5

One thought on “Persuasion

Leave a Reply

